Posts Tagged ‘Marketing’

10 commandements du marketing de camp

Posté le 14 août 2017 par Travis Allison

Chers confrères et consœurs,

Même après 15 ans comme directeur de camp, je tombais souvent dans mon lit en me disant : « Une seule chose, donne-moi une seule chose que je peux contrôler! »

Je m’appelle Travis Allison. Vous me connaissez peut-être du groupe Facebook Summer Camp Professionals ou des balados Camp Code et CampHacker. Ma collègue Joanna Warren Smith (Camp Consulting Services) et moi avons créé nos 10 commandements du marketing de camp. (inscrivez-vous ici)

Cet article vous est offert gratuitement et lorsque vous le téléchargez, vous recevrez nos conseils mensuels « Marketing Mondays », qui comprennent chacun deux astuces pour vous aider à prendre le contrôle du marketing de votre camp.

Téléchargez votre exemplaire gratuit des 10 commandements du marketing de camp (en anglais) maintenant!

Campagne marketing de l’ACC

Posté le 20 avril 2017 par CCA Communications Committee

L’ACC lance une nouvelle campagne nationale de marketing : cliquez ici pour apprendre comment y participer.

(English) Fifth National Camp T-shirt Weekend Celebration!

Posté le 18 avril 2016 par CCA Communications Committee

cca2016fr

Célébrez la Journée nationale du t-shirt de camp le 1er mai 2015!

Posté le 1 avril 2015 par CCA Communications Committee

Camp Shirt Day Poster 2015 French copy - web

Promotion des camps canadiens en Chine

Posté le 21 mars 2015 par CCA Communications Committee

L’ACC a été invitée à participer à un salon à Pékin en avril, où les parents pourront se renseigner sur les camps canadiens. John Jorgenson y sera à titre de président de l’International Camping Fellowship et représentant de l’ACC. Nous avons besoin de votre aide pour préparer une belle présentation de l’industrie des camps du Canada.

Nous vous demandons pour :

  • des photos pour une présentation PowerPoint
  • des clips vidéo ou vimeo

Nous vous remercions de transmettre photos et liens vers vos clips vidéo/vimeo à Jill Dundas (jill.dundas@sympatico.ca) avant le 1er avril.

Merci beaucoup!

(English) Discover Your Adventure at Canada’s Top Summer Camps

Posté le 16 janvier 2015 par Erin McLaughlin

Désolé, cette information est uniquement disponible en anglais.

Les leaders de l’ACC définissent trois priorités au Forum de leadership national de novembre 2014

Posté le 11 janvier 2015 par Catherine Ross

Les 17 et 18 novembre 2014, 29 dirigeants du milieu des camps canadiens se sont réunis à l’occasion du Forum de leadership national au Holiday Inn de l’aéroport de Toronto. Étaient présents les membres du conseil d’administration de l’ACC, les présidents des associations provinciales, les directeurs généraux et les présidents de comités et groupes de travail nationaux.

Après avoir entendu les rapports des provinces et comités, les participants se sont penchés sur trois priorités : marketing, formation et lobbying.

Marketing

Liz Kovach, directrice générale de l’association du Manitoba, dirigera, avec l’assistance de Gabrielle Raille, déléguée québécoise de l’International Camping Fellowship (ICF), un groupe de travail formé de représentants provinciaux qui aura pour mandat de développer une campagne nationale de marketing. Avant de solliciter les services de professionnels, le groupe commencera par répondre à deux questions :

  • quel est le message?
  • qui est le groupe cible?

Formation

John Savage, représentant du Nouveau-Brunswick au conseil de l’ACC, s’engage, avec l’assistance de Sean Day, représentant du Québec, à organiser un stage de formation à l’intention des directeurs de camps canadiens au Nouveau-Brunswick à l’automne 2015 sous la direction de Jane McCutcheon et Jeff Bradshaw.

Lobbying

Mark Diamond, directeur du Camp Manitou, en Ontario, préside le comité de lobbying de l’ACC, formé au printemps 2014. La présidente de l’ACC, Jill Dundas, et Jonathan Nyquist, représentant de l’Ontario, en sont membres. Il est question d’élargir le comité de sorte qu’il regroupe un représentant de chaque province. On souhaite également qu’il joue un rôle de chien de garde auprès du gouvernement fédéral, défendant les intérêts des camps dans les projets de loi, et qu’il tienne les camps informés de la législation les affectant.

Dans le passé, l’ACC a réussi à négocier l’obtention d’une formation de conducteurs de bateaux spécifique aux camps qui est moins dispendieuse que le certificat de formation des conducteurs de petits bâtiments. Des décisions sont en train d’être prises concernant les modalités de prestation de la formation pour l’été 2015. Des discussions sont également en cours concernant les obligations en matière d’assurance pour les bateaux de camps.

Le comité se penche également sur les lois concernant les travailleurs étrangers. On souhaite que les exemptions actuelles pour organismes de bienfaisance et camps religieux soient maintenues et élargies à tous les camps. L’ACC assumera tous les coûts du lobbying autour des projets de loi fédéraux affectant les camps.

Pour un salon des camps réussi

Posté le 24 novembre 2014 par Jeff Bradshaw

Les salons de camps sont devenus, pour les camps de jour et les camps de vacances, une plateforme de choix pour joindre une vaste clientèle.

BUT

Our Kids Media Camp Fair 2011 - 1

Courtesy Our Kids Media

  • Pour les camps, un salon est une occasion de donner collectivement une image professionnelle aux programmes de loisirs et de camps pour jeunes. Pour les familles, le salon offre la possibilité de faire tout son magasinage au même endroit.
  • En travaillant ensemble, les camps passent d’une approche compétitive à une approche collaborative. Le plus important dans le choix d’un camp, c’est que l’enfant passe un séjour agréable et enrichissant. Dans cette optique, les salons sont devenus un formidable forum de coopération où les camps se réfèrent entre eux dans le but de trouver le camp qui correspond le mieux aux intérêts et aux prédispositions de l’enfant.

ÉTIQUETTE

  • Un climat de respect et d’entraide existe entre les exposants. Ainsi, on n’offre pas de cadeaux aux familles (ex. : passes gratuites, chapeaux, tirage de semaines gratuites, souvenirs, etc.) et on limite au minimum le bruit (la musique, si on en fait jouer, ne doit pas déranger les conversations aux kiosques voisins).

À APPORTER

  • Amplement de documentation à distribuer.
  • Un bloc-notes sur lequel les gens peuvent inscrire leurs coordonnées si vous désirez envoyer des renseignements complémentaires aux familles intéressées ou les inclure dans votre liste d’envoi.
  • Des rallonges si vous apportez des appareils électriques (ordinateur portable, lecteur DVD).
  • D’enthousiastes employés de longue date pour vous aider.

AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS

Our Kids Media Camp Fair 2011 - 2

Courtesy Our Kids Media

  • Habillez-vous confortablement mais convenablement… les jeans sont à proscrire.
  • Portez une étiquette affichant votre nom et votre titre en gros caractères.
  • Les périodes d’ouverture des salons étant relativement courtes, il est préférable de se tenir debout à votre kiosque plutôt que d’être assis.
  • Résistez à la tentation de jaser avec vos collèges. Concentrez toute votre attention sur le public.
  • Arrivez avec suffisamment d’avance pour le montage et soyez prêts à rester jusqu’à la fermeture.

Gestion de camps d’été : cinq tendances des cinq prochaines années

Posté le 17 novembre 2014 par Travis Allison

ouareau-archeryQuiconque a dirigé un camp pour plus de 10 minutes sait ceci : le milieu des camps se transforme à une vitesse effarante. Si je me fie au rythme de l’évolution depuis mon premier poste de directeur de camp en 1994, je crois que les changements ne feront que s’accélérer. L’industrie des camps d’été se trouve à un point critique.

Pour faire face au changement, les directeurs doivent se forcer à voir plus loin que les défis quotidiens de leur travail et observer ce qui se passe dans le reste du monde des affaires. Considérez ceci : pour plusieurs moniteurs qui entrent à l’université à l’automne 2015, leur poste n’existe pas encore. Dans cet environnement en pleine évolution, nous devons être disposés à nous transformer nous-mêmes ainsi que nos camps.

Voici cinq pratiques qui, à mon sens, seront essentielles au succès des camps au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Miser sur le visuel

Créer un récit émouvant autour de votre camp passe par le visuel. Voyez comment, ce matin, vous avez parcouru votre fil de nouvelles Facebook. Rappelez-vous les histoires qui ont capté votre attention. Il y a fort à parier qu’une bonne partie d’entre elles comportait une vidéo ou une photo accrocheuse.

Le choix d’un camp d’été est une décision hautement émotive parce qu’elle implique des enfants et des parents. Nous devons devenir maîtres dans l’art de susciter des émotions à l’aide de photos et de vidéos.

Je vous lance un défi : chaque fois que vous vous asseyez pour taper un message, essayez de trouver une façon de remplacer le texte par des photos, des images ou une vidéo.

Ce savoir-faire sera essentiel pour raconter l’histoire des transformations qui s’opèrent grâce au camp.

Maîtriser la technologie

La technologie est intimidante pour tout le monde. Même ceux qui sont à l’aise et expérimentent avec de nouvelles tehcnologies peuvent rapidement être dépassés. C’est pourquoi, en tant que gestionnaires responsables, nous devons trouver des moyens de suivre le rythme. Même un exercice aussi simple que The Hour of Code™ peut nous aider à poursuivre notre apprentissage. Autant le camp est une occasion précieuse pour les enfants de s’éloigner du stress que provoquent les nouvelles technologies, autant sont-elles un outil essentiel pour les dirigeants de camp.

Placer le client au cœur du récit

Nous sommes tombés dans un piège.

Lorsque nous parlons de nos camps, sur le Web ou en personne, nous avons tendance à parler de nous-mêmes. Nous essayons de recruter des familles – dont beaucoup ne comprennent pas du tout ce qu’est un camp – en parlant de notre ratio moniteur-campeurs ou du fait que nous sommes un camp « traditionnel ». On présume que les parents ont une connaissance sommaire de la façon dont un camp fonctionne. Pour beaucoup d’entre eux, ce n’est pas le cas.

Si nous voulons rejoindre davantage de familles qui n’ont jamais vécu l’expérience du camp, il faut que nous parlions de nos camps autrement. Une façon de capter leur attention est de cesser de parler de nous-mêmes. Les parents doivent se voir dans le récit que nous racontons. Imaginez comment votre camp se démarquerait des autres activités estivales si votre site Web mettait l’accent, en partie, sur la vie des familles d’aujourd’hui? Imaginez, par exemple, à côté de la photo de ces trois campeurs qui se prennent dans les bras, l’image d’une mère stressée qui essaie de parler à ses enfants qui ont la tête plongée dans leurs téléphones.

En incluant ce type d’image sur votre site Web, vous montrez aux familles que vous comprenez leur vie. Et vous commencez à raconter la transformation que suscitera chez elles votre camp.

Faire des déclarations audacieuses

Parce que nous passons nos journées à créer un environnement sécuritaire et accueillant pour les enfants d’autrui, nous avons tendance à décrire notre super produit dans des termes ennuyants.

J’adore la citation de Simon Sinek qui dit que « les gens n’achètent pas ce que vous faites, ils achètent la raison pour laquelle vous le faites ». Ce que dit Sinek, c’est que les gens doivent comprendre la raison d’être de votre camp.

Pour qu’elle se démarque des nombreuses options d’activités estivales offertes aux familles, votre raison d’être doit être audacieuse.

Le but du réseau CampHacker est d’associer aux camps un message si fort que les parents aient l’impression de laisser tomber leurs enfants en ne les envoyant pas au camp.

Les mots, j’en suis conscient, risquent d’être aliénants pour certains. C’est une déclaration audacieuse, directe et percutante. Les dirigeants de camp repoussés par le message de CampHacker ne seront probablement pas intéressés à travailler avec nous. Ceux qui le sont n’ont pas peur d’afficher leur passion.

Apprendre à relaxer

Mettre ces concepts en pratique peut être ardu et fatigant. C’est pourquoi le cinquième porte sur l’équilibre. Pour avoir l’énergie nécessaire pour mener à bien l’organisation d’un camp et transformer des vies, il faut prendre le temps de se détendre. C’est essentiel à notre capacité de faire ce travail.

Je pense que chaque personne doit trouver sa propre façon de se détendre. Pour moi, c’est une marche avec mon chien tous les matins ou 100 respirations méditatives par jour. Nous devons rechercher un équilibre avant autant d’intention que nous nous appliquons à améliorer la vie de nos campeurs et de nos moniteurs.

L’industrie des camps subira de profonds changements au cours des cinq prochaines années. J’ai bien l’intention de suivre le mouvement, et j’espère c’est ensemble que nous le ferons.

Posts Tagged ‘Marketing’

10 Commandments of Camp Marketing

Posted on August 14, 2017 by Travis Allison

Fellow camp professional, I think you’ll understand …

Even after 15 years of being a Camp Director, I would often fall into bed saying “Just one thing, please give me one thing that I can control!”

I’m Travis Allison. You might know me from Summer Camp Professionals on Facebook, Camp Code & CampHacker podcasts. My colleague Joanna Warren Smith (Camp Consulting Services) and I have created our 10 Commandments of Camp Marketing. (sign up here)

This article is yours for free and when you download it, you’ll also receive our monthly ‘Marketing Mondays’ Tips, each of which includes two items to help you get control of your camp marketing madness.

Download your free 10 Commandments of Camp Marketing now!

Get On Board Now!

Posted on April 20, 2017 by CCA Communications Committee

The CCA is proud to launch a fabulous new national marketing campaign: “Thanks To Camp”.

Learn more about how your camp can participate! 

Fifth National Camp T-shirt Weekend Celebration!

Posted on April 18, 2016 by CCA Communications Committee

Please share this flyer to all your campers and staff and encourage them to wear their camp clothing on the weekend of April 29 – May 1, 2016 and proudly announce their camp affiliation to the world!

cca2016en

Celebrate National Camp T-shirt Day May 1, 2015

Posted on April 1, 2015 by CCA Communications Committee

Camp Shirt Day Poster 2015 English copy - web

Promoting Canadian Camps in China

Posted on March 21, 2015 by CCA Communications Committee

The CCA has been invited to participate in an exhibition in Beijing, China in April where parents can look at the opportunities to send their children to Canadian camps. John Jorgenson will be there in his role as International Camping Fellowship President and will also represent the CCA component of the exhibition. We need your help to create an awesome Canada presentation that represents our industry nationwide.

We are asking for:

  • Pictures to be incorporated into a powerpoint
  • Video or vimeo clips

Please email pictures or links to video/vimeo clips to Jill Dundas at jill.dundas@sympatico.ca. These must be received no later than Wednesday, April 1 in order to be incorporated prior to Jorgi’s departure.

Thanks so much!

Discover Your Adventure at Canada’s Top Summer Camps

Posted on January 16, 2015 by Erin McLaughlin

http---www.ourkids.net-campexpo-media-ourkids-campexpo-300x250What does camp mean to you? Maybe it’s a week of fun in the sun, arts and crafts, and canoeing. Perhaps it’s a couple weeks of dipping toes in the water, finding a place at the chow table, feeling confident about mastering a new activity, and endless campfire stories and giggles.

To your child, a camp experience is all of that and more. At camp, your child is able to play and learn, take chances and try something new, and build friendships that last a lifetime. It’s an opportunity to foster important life skills such as problem solving, leadership and self-confidence. Most importantly, camp is where your children can feel free to be themselves.

Every child deserves to go to camp and the Our Kids Camp Expo can help you find an amazing summer camp by introducing you to directors and staff from many different types of camps across Ontario and Quebec all in one day. Explore day and overnight camps that specialize in a range of programs including arts, sports, technology, special needs or an overall traditional experience.

The Camp Expo is the perfect place to discover your adventure and get your questions answered. Learn all about the benefits of camp, how to pay, how to prepare, what to pack, how camps deal with safety and homesickness, and more.

Be sure to bring the whole family to see live animal shows and participate in camp activities, games and crafts. There will be lots of prizes to be won, plus $2,500 in camp scholarships, and each attending family will receive a free 2015 OUR KIDS Camp Guide featuring 230+ programs to choose from.

In support of the Kids in Camp charity, which seeks to send underprivileged kids to camp, Our Kids will donate $1.00 on behalf of each attending person.

Date and Location

Sunday, February 22, 2015 from 12:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Roy Thomson Hall: 60 Simcoe Street, Toronto, ON
Pre-register for FREE admission valid for a family of four at http://www.ourkids.net/campexpo/register.php
For additional information, please contact 1-877-272-1845 or info@ourkids.net.

CCA leaders determine three priorities at November 2014 National Leadership Forum

Posted on January 11, 2015 by Catherine Ross

On November 17 and 18, 2014, twenty-nine Canadian camping leaders met for the National Leadership Forum at the Toronto Airport Holiday Inn. The participants included the CCA Board, Provincial Presidents, Executive Directors and National Committee and Task Force Chairs.

On the second day, after hearing reports from every province and committee the participants focused on three priorities: marketing, education and lobbying.

Marketing

Chair, Liz Kovach (Executive Director for Manitoba) with assistance from Gabrielle Raille (ICF Representative) of Quebec will form a task force of provincial representatives to develop a National Marketing Campaign. Before seeking professional input, they will begin by answering two questions:

  1. What is the message?
  2. Who is our target group?

Education

John Savage (CCA Board Representative for New Brunswick) with assistance from Sean Day (CCA Board Representative from Quebec) is committed to hosting a Canadian Camp Directors Course in New Brunswick in the Fall of 2015 with leadership from Jane McCutcheon (former CCA Treasurer) and Jeff Bradshaw (Camp Wenonah).

Lobbying

Currently, Mark Diamond (Director of Camp Manitou, Ontario) is the Chair of the CCA Lobbying Committee, which was established in the Spring of 2014 to address pending federal legislation affecting camps. Jill Dundas (CCA President) and Jonathan Nyquist (CCA Board Representative for Ontario) are members. The intention is to expand the committee to include a representative from every province to act as a watch dog for pending legislation affecting their camps and disseminate relevant information to their camps.

Earlier efforts, which were focused on Transport Canada legislation, were successful in negotiating a camp-specific course for camp boat drivers that is less onerous than the Small Vessel Operator Proficiency. Decisions are being made on how and by whom this course will be delivered to camps for summer 2015. Work is ongoing on insurance requirements for camp boats.

Attention then focused on Foreign Workers Legislation. The hope is for current exemptions for charitable and religious camps to continue while gaining an exemption for all camps. CCA is budgeting to cover all costs of lobbying on national legislation pertaining to camps.

What Makes a Great Camp Fair & Expo?

Posted on November 24, 2014 by Jeff Bradshaw

Camp Fairs and Expos have become popular vehicles for both day and overnight camps to reach a broad market.

Why do we have them?

Our Kids Media Camp Fair 2011 - 1

Courtesy Our Kids Media

  • Collectively, we can put a professional face on camping and recreation programs for children and youth. Families can “one stop shop” for their children’s summer program needs.
  • Working together, service-providers are able to move from a competitive to a cooperative approach with families. In the bigger picture, it’s not as important that a child attends a specific program but rather enjoys and benefits from a program that is challenging and a good fit for the child. To this end, Camp Fairs and Expos have become remarkable venues for referrals and cooperation between service providers who work to find the very best fit for a child’s interests and abilities.

What etiquette has evolved?

  • Essentially, an environment of support and respect for other programs has developed. This manifests itself in not offering giveaways to families (i.e.: free passes, hats, draws for free weeks, souvenir items etc…) and keeping any artificial noise to a minimum (recorded music, if used at all, shouldn’t be detrimental to those having conversations in neighbouring booths).

What should I bring?

  • Be sure to bring plenty of material for distribution.
  • If you would like to send further information to families that have an interest or include them in future mailings, bring along a clipboard with a blank mailing list form that they can fill-in.
  • If you have electrical needs (laptop, DVD player etc…) include extension cords.
  • Invite some enthusiastic senior camp staff to assist.

What else should I consider?

Our Kids Media Camp Fair 2011 - 2

Courtesy Our Kids Media

  • Dress comfortably but appropriately … jeans are not suitable.
  • Wear a name tag with your name and title in large print.
  • Camp Fair times are relatively short and it’s a good idea to be prepared to stand and/or walk around at your booth rather than sitting.
  • Be sure to arrive with enough time to set-up and, be prepared to remain until closing time.Resist chatting with colleagues. Focus all your attention on the public.

5 Trends For the Next 5 Years of Summer Camp Management

Posted on November 17, 2014 by Travis Allison

ouareau-archeryAnybody who has been a camp director for more than 10 minutes knows this: camp is changing quickly. Looking at the pace of change since I started directing summer camp in 1994, I think we are in store for more change at an even faster rate. We are at a critical point for the summer camp industry.

For camps to be equipped to deal with change, directors must force themselves to think beyond the daily struggles of their jobs and consider what is going on in the rest of the business world. Consider this: for those camp staff entering college in the fall of 2015, many of their job titles do not yet exist. In this changing environment, we must be willing to transform ourselves and our camps.

As we navigate our changing world, I hope you’ll consider the following five concepts that I believe are essential to running a successful summer camp over the next five years.

Become a Visual Storyteller

Creating an emotional story about your camp must involve visuals. Think back to how, just this morning, you quickly scrolled through your Newsfeed on Facebook. Think about the stories and posts that captured your attention. I guarantee you that a vast majority of them involved some sort of video or an engaging photo.

Summer camp is such an emotion-driven consumer purchase because it involves children and parents. We need to become great at telling emotional stories through photos and videos.

My challenge to you: every time you sit down to type out a communication or message, try to figure out how you can use photos, images, or video to replace your text.

This skill will become essential to telling the story of the transformations that happened because of summer camp.

Get Comfortable with Technology

Technology is intimidating for everyone. Even those of us who are comfortable being surrounded by and experimenting with new technologies can be quickly overwhelmed. That’s why I think we must, as responsible business managers, figure out a way to keep on top of technology. Even an exercise as simple as the Hour of Code™ can help us keep learning.

While I strongly believe that summer camp itself provides an important opportunity for kids to get away from the stresses of technology, I also know that the willingness to use new tech is essential for camp professionals.

Make It About Them
We have fallen into a trap.

When we talk about our camps, on the web or in person, we tend to talk about ourselves. We try to recruit families — many who don’t understand summer camp at all — by telling them about our camper-to-staff ratio or how we are a “traditional” camp. This style of discussion assumes that parents have a baseline knowledge of how camp works. Many of them don’t.

If we are to reach more families without prior camp experience, then we must talk about camp in completely different ways. One important method to grab their attention is to stop talking about ourselves. Instead, parents need to see themselves in the stories we tell. Can you imagine how much camp would stand out from all of the other summer activities if your website focused, in part, on what life is like for today’s families? For example, imagine supplementing that photo of three campers hugging each other with an image of a stressed-out mom attempting to talk to her kids while their faces are buried in their phones.

By including this type of imagery on your website, it demonstrates to today’s families that you understand their lives. This will allow you to craft the story of the transformation that will happen to their family because of summer camp.

Make Bold Statements

Because we spend our days creating safe and welcoming environments for other people’s kids, we tend to describe our amazing product in very boring terms.

I love the quote by Simon Sinek who says that “people do not buy what you do, they buy why you do it”. What Sinek is saying is that people need to understand the very foundational ideas upon which your camp is based. They need to understand your why.

I believe that your why needs to be bold so that it stands out among the many competing summertime options for families.

Our goal with the CampHacker network is to create an industry-wide message so strong that parents will feel they are failing their children if they don’t send them to camp. That is our bold statement.

I know that the words “failing their children” will be alienating to some camp leaders. By design, bold statements are unapologetic, direct, and evoke strong emotion. It is safe to say that those camp professionals who do not connect with the CampHacker message may not want to work with us. Those who do are willing to wear their passions on their sleeves.

Learn to Relax

Implementing these concepts can be strenuous and tiring, and that’s why my fifth concept is about balance. To maintain the energy required to run successful camps and transform lives, we need to take the time to consciously relax. It’s essential to our ability to do this job.

I think that each person must find his or her own way to relax. For me, it is early morning trail walks with the dog or taking 100 meditative breaths per day. We need to put as much intentionality into finding balance as we do improving the lives of our campers and staff.

There are many important changes coming to the camp industry over the next five years, and I intend to be along for the ride. I hope we’re in it together.