Posts Tagged ‘Insurance’

Le programme d’assurance de l’ACC pour camps accrédités

Posté le 26 janvier 2015 par Larry Bell

Canadian Summer Camp InsuranceL’ACC a constaté il y a plusieurs années que nombre de ses membres n’étaient pas adéquatement assurés pour certaines situations pouvant survenir dans un camp et que seulement quelques-uns étaient dotés d’une police adaptée aux camps. Pour offrir un service à ses membres et corriger une situation potentiellement désastreuse, l’ACC a mis sur pied le comité d’assurance, constitué de propriétaires de camp d’expérience soucieux de l’adéquation de la couverture en assurance des camps.

Le comité fut chargé d’élaborer une police qui répondrait aux besoins spécifiques des camps, permettrait à l’ensemble des camps accrédités de participer et garantirait, sauf circonstances atténuantes, qu’aucun camp ne perdrait sa couverture en raison de son dossier. Le comité a réalisé son mandat et, depuis la création du programme, travaille en étroite collaboration avec les courtiers de l’ACC pour conclure des ententes avec des assureurs de qualité aux meilleurs taux.

Le comité d’assurance souhaite que les membres de l’ACC soient au courant des nombreux avantages du programme.

Avantages du programme pour les camps de l’ACC :

1.  Notre courtière, Nancy Brown, en association avec Firstbrook Cassie and Anderson :

  • comprend le concept du programme et travaille sans relâche pour le maintenir
  • possède une compréhension approfondie de l’industrie des camps et de l’assurance
  • a offert et continue d’offrir des séances lors de nos congrès
  • est reconnue par le gouvernement fédéral comme la professionnelle du domaine lorsqu’il est question d’enjeux touchant le milieu des camps
  • offre des conseils aux comités des normes provinciales sur les enjeux de sécurité
  • est toujours prête à aider les camps à gérer accidents, incidents et réclamations
  • a autorisé des sous-courtiers à offrir le programme afin que les camps puissent avoir accès à la couverture sans changer de courtier

2.  David McKeon est le principal expert en assurances affecté au programme de l’ACC. Dave a géré presque chaque réclamation faite par les camps au cours des 15 dernières années dans le cadre du programme. Il connaît très bien l’industrie des camps et sous sa direction, les réclamations sont réglées de façon rapide, efficace et juste.

3.  Toutes les réclamations faites dans le cadre du programme ont été réglées ou sont en voie de l’être.

4.  Aucun camp accrédité ne s’est vu refuser une couverture. En revanche, certaines activités qui ne sont pas normalement accréditées peuvent faire l’objet de modalités spéciales.

5.  Ce programme a permis à l’ACC de se constituer un dossier rassurant pour les compagnies d’assurance.

6.  Nous offrons aux camps la couverture la plus étendue qui soit disponible, et ce, à des taux réalistes et raisonnables en raison de notre excellent dossier.

7.  Nous fournissons aux propriétés de camp une couverture pour les périodes où elles sont inoccupées (y compris pour charge de neige sur les toitures), qui n’est pas normalement offerte par les polices commerciales.

8.  Nos polices sont réellement adaptées aux besoins des camps. Elles aiguillent également les propriétaires et exploitants de camp dans leurs démarches de gestion des risques.

9.  À plusieurs reprises, le comité a fait appel à un conseiller indépendant en assurance pour étudier en détail nos polices d’assurance biens et responsabilité, y suggérer des améliorations et les maintenir à jour.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec la courtière Nancy Brown (nbrown@pathcom.com).

Faire pression sur le gouvernement, la nouvelle priorité

Posté le 7 mai 2013 par CCA Communications Committee

Lors d’une réunion récente à Edmonton, le conseil d’administration de l’ACC a appuyé le financement d’une initiative de l’Ontario visant à faire pression sur le gouvernement fédéral relativement aux règlements actuels et futurs de Transports Canada, qui ont et qui auront d’importantes répercussions sur de nombreux camps canadiens. L’OCA a retenu les services de Global Public Affairs Inc. afin de fixer des réunions le 22 avril 2013 entre trois représentants de l’OCA et le député David Tilson, le député Larry Miller, président du Comité des transports de la Chambre des communes, le personnel politique du ministère des Transports et le chef du cabinet du ministre d’État (Petites entreprises et Tourisme).

La loi fédérale s’applique à tous les camps qui se servent de bateaux motorisés de plus de 9,9 chevaux, mais elle est particulièrement exigeante pour les camps accessibles par voie d’eau et les camps qui transportent régulièrement plus de six passagers.

La loi actuelle exige que toute embarcation de plus de 9,9 chevaux soit immatriculée à titre de petit bâtiment commercial. Le processus est dispendieux et peut prendre jusqu’à six mois. Les bateaux immatriculés sont tenus d’avoir à bord des pièces d’équipement spécifiques (fusées éclairantes, gilets de sauvetage (plutôt que des VFI), appareils de communication, etc.).

Les conducteurs de bateaux transportant plus de six passagers ou de bateaux de travail de plus de 8 m de longueur doivent désormais avoir suivi les formations de conducteur de petits bâtiments et de sécurité de base des petits bâtiments autres que les embarcations de plaisance (FUM A3). Ces formations durent plusieurs jours et coûtent de 500 $ à 1000 $ par personne.

On prévoit que d’ici 2014, le montant de la couverture nécessaire en assurance-responsabilité s’élève à 250 000 $ par siège de bâtiment motorisé à passagers. Cette couverture s’ajoute à l’assurance-responsabilité générale. Nancy Brown, courtière du régime d’assurance de l’ACC, travaille avec les représentants de l’OCA sur cet aspect du projet de loi.

Il s’avère de plus en plus évident que le projet de loi suscite et continuera de susciter de graves inquiétudes auprès des propriétaires de camp. Reconnaissant le besoin d’être proactif dans ce dossier, l’ACC a ajouté la défense d’intérêts auprès du gouvernement en tête de l’ordre du jour du Forum sur le leadership national qui aura lieu en novembre. Au Forum, le conseil de l’ACC, les présidents provinciaux et les directeurs généraux étudieront la viabilité de retenir les services d’un lobbyiste pour sensibiliser les dirigeants de camp au projet de loi. La mise sur pied d’un comité national voué à suivre l’évolution du projet de loi avec l’apport d’un lobbyiste professionnel nous permettrait d’être proactifs.

Présentement, nous réagissons aux règlements de Transports Canada du mieux que nous pouvons. Des propriétaires de camp en Ontario ont fait des dons individuels pour bonifier l’engagement financier de l’OCA et de l’ACC. Les coûts initiaux sont estimés entre quarante et soixante mille dollars. Tout soutien financier de la part de camps à travers le Canada, à l’intention de la directrice générale de l’OCA, Heather Heagle, serait grandement apprécié.

Il s’agit d’un enjeu national. Nous devons savoir quels camps et dans quelles provinces sont affectés par les règlements sur les bâtiments commerciaux de Transports Canada. Nous voulons vous entendre. Comment les règlements vous affectent-ils maintenant? Quelle est votre expérience avec Transports Canada ou les agents responsables de l’application des règlements? Comment les règlements vont-ils vous affecter à l’avenir? Faites part de votre expérience à Mark Diamond (mark@manitoucamp.com).

Posts Tagged ‘Insurance’

The CCA Insurance Program for Accredited Camps

Posted on January 26, 2015 by Larry Bell

Canadian Summer Camp InsuranceMany years ago the CCA recognized that many of our camps had a variety of insurance policies which mostly did not properly or adequately cover camp situations and only a very few camps had a policy specifically providing camp coverages. To provide a service to our members and correct what could be a disastrous situation, the CCA established the Insurance Committee made up of experienced camp owners with an interest in proper camp insurance coverage.

The committee was tasked with creating a policy written to be specific to the needs of our camps, would ensure that all accredited Canadian camps could participate and that unless there were extenuating circumstances, no accredited camp would lose coverage because of its claims history. The Insurance Committee responded to this task and since the inception of the Program has monitored and worked closely with our brokers to determine the placement of the policy with quality underwriters and at the best rates.

The Insurance Committee would like Canadian camps to be aware of the many benefits that this program has to offer.

Benefits to CCA/ACC Camps currently:

1.  Our Broker, Nancy Brown, in association with Firstbrook Cassie and Anderson:

  • Understands the concept of the Program and works tirelessly to maintain it
  • Her knowledge of Camping and the Insurance Business is extensive
  • Has and continues to offer sessions at our conferences
  • Is recognized by the Federal Government as the Professional in the field when it comes to issues relating to the camping community
  • Offers advice to Provincial Standards Committees on the issues that need to be addressed to keep our campers safe
  • Is readily there to help any camp deal with accidents, incidents and claims
  • Has allowed our Program to be accessed by sub-brokers so proper camp coverages are available without changing existing broker relationships.

2.  David McKeon is the primary adjuster to the CCA program. Dave has been the adjuster who has dealt with almost every claim in the past 15 years or so made by the camps in this program. He is fully knowledgeable about the business of camps and has made the resolution of claims fast, efficient and fair.

3.  All claims made under this program have been settled or are currently in the process of being settled.

4.  Not one accredited camp has been refused coverage in the program. However some activities not normally accredited can be subject to more aggressive underwriting.

5.  This program has allowed us to have a history that gives insurance companies comfort in dealing with us.

6.  We have the broadest coverage available to camps and because of our excellent history we have realistic and acceptable rates.

7.  We provide coverage for camp properties for periods of the year when they are unoccupied (including snow load) not normally provided under business policies.

8.  Our Policies are truly camp specific. They also help owners and operators of camps to review their risk management procedures and limit their exposures.

9.  The Insurance Committee has on several occasions employed on behalf of CCA an independent insurance consultant to vet both our liability and property coverages and to offer suggestions or improvements to the policies. The Committee is then a major part of the discussion on how to keep our policies current.

For further information about the CCA Insurance Program please click here or contact Broker Nancy Brown at nbrown@pathcom.com

The New Necessity – Proactive Government Lobbying

Posted on May 7, 2013 by CCA Communications Committee

At a recent meeting in Edmonton, the CCA Board moved to financially support Ontario’s initiative to lobby the federal government on current and future Transport Canada Regulations, which are having and will have a serious, negative impact on many Canadian camps. The Ontario Camps Association hired Global Public Affairs Inc. to schedule meetings on April 22, 2013 of three OCA representatives with MP David Tilson; MP Larry Miller, Chair of the House Transport Committee; the Political Staff in the Ministry of Transport and the Chief of Staff to the Minister of Small Business and Tourism.

The federal legislation applies to all camps that use motorized boats over 9.9 HP for any reason but it is particularly demanding for camps that are accessed by water or regularly transport more than 6 passengers.

Current legislation requires the registration of every motorized vessel over 9.9 HP as a Small Commercial Vessel (SCV). The onerous registration paperwork can take up to six months. Registered boats require specific equipment (flares, lifejackets (as opposed to PFDs), communication devices etc).

Small Vessel Operator Proficiency (SVOP) and Small Non-Pleasure Vessel Basic Safety (MED A3) are now required for operators carrying more than six passengers or operators of workboats greater than 8 metres in length. These qualifications require several days to complete at a cost per individual of between $500 and $1000.

By 2014, Small Vessel Marine Insurance is anticipated at a rate of $250,000 liability insurance per seat for each motorized passenger-carrying vessel. This coverage is separate and distinct from other general liability insurance. Nancy Brown, broker for the CCA Insurance Progam, is working with the OCA representatives on this aspect of the anticipated legislation.

There is mounting evidence that government legislation has been and will continue to be a grave concern for camp operators. CCA, recognizing the need and advantages of being proactive, has added lobbying to the top of the agenda for the National Leadership Forum (NLF) this November. At the NLF, the CCA Board, Provincial Presidents and Executive Directors will consider the viability of retaining a lobbyist to keep camp leaders aware of pending legislation that will affect the camping industry. A national committee dedicated to monitoring legislation with input from a professional lobbyist would enable us to be proactive.

Today we are doing our best to react to Transport Canada regulations. Camp owners in Ontario have made individual contributions to add to the financial commitment from OCA and CCA. The initial costs are estimated between forty and sixty thousand dollars. Financial support from any camp across the country directed to the OCA Executive Director, Heather Heagle, would be most welcomed.

This is a national issue. We need to know what camps in what provinces are being affected negatively by the Transport Canada Commercial boating regulations. We would like to hear your stories. How are the regulations affecting you now? What has been your experience with Transport Canada or other enforcement officers? How will the regulations affect you? Please contact Mark Diamond (mark@manitoucamp.com) with your stories.