Article

Sept lauréats de prix de l’ACC 2012

Posté le 23 septembre 2013 par CCA Communications Committee

Dr Troy Glover de l’Université de Waterloo et Brain Ward Hall de BackCheck ont reçu le Prix d’honneur Jack Pearse. Kim Scherger, Kim Coursey, Lyle et Beverley Beswitherick du Manitoba et Arthur Lowen de Colombie-Britannique se sont vu décerner le Prix d’excellence de l’ACC.

Les propositions écrites de membres de l’ACC (y compris des particuliers) doivent être formulées au plus tard le 31 octobre 2013 pour être étudiées par le conseil d’administration de l’ACC lors de sa dernière réunion de l’année.

Prix d’honneur Jack Pearse

Dr Troy Glover, professeur agrégé et directeur du réseau de recherche Healthy Communities de l’Université de Waterloo, a dirigé le Projet de recherche sur les camps canadiens, une étude de six ans qui a démontré les bienfaits du camp pour les jeunes.

Pendant plusieurs années, Brian Ward Hall de BackCheck a travaillé avec les dirigeants de camp et appuyé financièrement le milieu.

Prix d’excellence de l’ACC

pour contribution exceptionnelle au sein d’une province

Depuis plus de 20 ans, Kim Scherger, ancienne membre du conseil d’administration de l’Association des camps du Manitoba, dirige le camp Luther Village avec passion et dévouement.

Kim Coursey fait partie du personnel du camp Red Rock depuis 1979, aujourd’hui en tant que directeur général. Kim a siégé au conseil d’administration de Christian Camping International et occupé diverses fonctions au sein de l’Association des camps du Manitoba.

Depuis 1988, Lyle et Beverley Beswitherick consacrent leur vie au Circle Square Ranch, situé à Austin, au Manitoba. L’équipe dynamique a apporté de nombreuses améliorations au camp et servi les campeurs et le personnel avec amour, soin et compassion. Ils ont siégé au conseil de l’Association des camps du Manitoba et œuvré au programme des normes et de l’accréditation et au Sunshine Fund.

En 1976, Arthur Lowen et son ami Dave Griffin ont eu l’idée de rassembler les dirigeants des camps chrétiens de Colombie-Britannique. Ce qui a débuté par une conférence en 1977 est devenu le Fellowship of Christian Camps of BC en 1997. Les conférences continuent d’avoir lieu annuellement depuis 1977. Depuis 1997, Arthur, un enseignant retraité de mathématique au secondaire, siège au comité de direction du Fellowship ainsi qu’au conseil d’administration de plusieurs camps.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
at
The CCA Communications Committee produces regular online content for Canadian camps.

Article

Seven Recipients of CCA Awards

Posted on September 23, 2013 by CCA Communications Committee

We are proud to announce the recipients of two significant awards presented by the CCA for the 2012 season.

Please consider nominating a deserving camping leader in your province to receive a CCA 2013 Award. Any member of CCA, including individuals, may submit an online nomination by the October 31, 2013 deadline.

Jack Pearse Award of Honour

For Outstanding Service to the National Organization

Dr. Troy Glover, Associate Professor, Director of the Healthy Communities Research Network, University of Waterloo, directed the six-year study, The Canadian Summer Camp Research Project, which proved the great benefits of camp for children and youth. The results of this lengthy research give credence to the camping industry.

For many years, Brian Ward Hall of BackCheck educated and worked with camping leaders and financially supported the camping industry.

Harry Edwards (left) CCA President, Brian Ward-Hall (centre) Director of Sales-Specialty Market, Stephen Dinesen (right) Senior Vice President, BackCheck

CCA Award of Excellence

For outstanding contributions within a province

For over twenty years, Kim Scherger, past Board member of the Manitoba Camping Association, has served as Executive Director of Luther Village with passion and commitment. Under her capable leadership the camp has grown while she has mentored countless campers, staff and volunteers.

Kim Coursey has been on the staff of Red Rock Camp since 1979; he is currently the Executive Director. Kim has served on the Board of Christian Camping International and has served the Manitoba Camping Association in many capacities.

Since 1988, Directors Lyle and Beverley Beswitherick have devoted their lives to Circle Square Ranch in Austin, Manitoba. As a dynamic team, they have improved the camp and served the campers and staff with love, care and compassion. They have served on the Manitoba Camping Association Board of Directors and in other capacities related to the Standards and Accreditation program, and the Sunshine Fund.

In 1976, Arthur Lowen and friend, Dave Griffin, shared a vision of bringing together the leaders of the Christian Camps in British Columbia. What began with a conference in 1977 developed into the founding of the Fellowship of Christian Camps of British Columbia in 1997 and annual conferences since the first one in 1977. Since 1997, Arthur, now a retired high school mathematics teacher, has served on the executive of the Fellowship of Christian Camps of BC as well as several other camp boards.

Harry Edwards (left) CCA President, Arthur Lowen (centre), Pam Chater (right) BC Provincial Rep

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
The CCA Communications Committee produces regular online content for Canadian camps.