Article

ChariTree s’enracine!

Posté le 13 octobre 2014 par Andrea Koehle Jones

En traversée du Canada en roulotte avec sa famille cet été, Andrea Koehle Jones, directrice générale de la Fondation ChariTree, visite des camps où ont été plantés quelques-uns des 100 000 arbres depuis la création du programme de plantation d’arbres de l’ACC en 2009. Elle découvre un programme aux racines profondes.

Récit d’un voyage en roulotte sur les traces du programme de plantation d’arbres

charitree foundationUn jeune arbre qui pousse dans la forêt passe-t-il inaperçu? Bien au contraire, ai-je pu découvrir cet été lors d’un voyage en roulotte à travers le Canada. Depuis cinq ans, la Fondation ChariTree, un organisme de bienfaisance que j’ai fondé en 2006, donne des arbres aux membres de l’Association canadienne des camps (ACC). Leurs campeurs ont planté près de 100 000 arbres à ce jour.

Chaque année, je reçois des photos et témoignages encourageants. Des commentaires comme ceux-ci me rappellent la pertinence du programme et l’importance du travail de la fondation :

« Nous avons planté 300 arbres au Camp Wenohah en juillet cette année! Ce fut une expérience unique pour les campeurs et les moniteurs, une occasion de se rapprocher de la nature et de laisser leur empreinte sur les terres du camp qui leur tiennent tant à cœur. Tous les campeurs ont eu la chance de planter un arbre à l’endroit de leur choix – certains ont même planté des jardins d’arbres près de leurs cabines qu’ils pouvaient voir grandir. Merci à la Fondation ChariTree d’avoir rendu possible cette belle activité. » – Janette, directrice adjointe du Camp Wenonah

« On a eu beaucoup de plaisir avec ce projet. On avait un arboriculteur agréé dans l’équipe qui nous a conseillés sur le placement des arbres. Nos campeurs ont beaucoup aimé. » – Derrik Porter, guide d’excursion au Lake Scugog Camp

J’ai toujours rêvé de voir ces arbres de mes propres yeux, mais vivant sur une petite île au large de Vancouver, je n’ai jamais eu la chance de le réaliser – jusqu’à cet été. En juin, j’ai décidé d’acheter une roulotte et de faire le voyage jusqu’en Ontario avec mon mari et mes deux enfants pour visiter mes parents. J’ai aussitôt pensé que ce serait l’occasion parfaite de visiter des camps, voir les arbres et prendre le pouls du personnel des camps au sujet du programme. Je trouve également important de pouvoir rendre des comptes à tous les généreux donateurs, leur exprimer que leur contribution est précieuse et que leurs arbres continuent de pousser à travers le Canada.

Avec nos enfants de neuf et onze ans, on a rempli la roulotte et on s’est mis en route vers l’est. Après huit jours de route et de camping à travers le nord des États-Unis et une visite mémorable des grands-parents au lac Simcoe, les enfants avaient hâte au chemin de retour pour voir les arbres que leur mère avait donné aux camps.

Mais quels camps visiter? Question pas si simple que je l’avais imaginée… Au moins trois camps à moins de deux heures de notre point de départ à Orillia avaient reçu des arbres. Ce fut gratifiant de constater que la Fondation était présente à autant d’endroits, ce que le voyage vers l’Ouest ne cessera de me rappeler.

Canadian Camping Association CharitreeLe premier camp que nous visitons est le YMCA Geneva Park sur le lac Couchiching, tout près d’Orillia. Le directeur Tim Clement nous emmène dans une clairière à l’orée de laquelle, quelques semaines plus tôt, des campeurs avaient planté une jolie rangée de pins gris, qui, à terme, formera un bel abri du vent et du soleil.

Tim nous raconte qu’il avait été agréablement surpris par le nombre de campeurs qui choisissaient de planter des arbres au détriment d’activités de camp plus traditionnelles. Beaucoup de campeurs n’en avaient jamais fait l’expérience et ils étaient heureux de pouvoir contribuer à embellir le camp et protéger l’environnement en plantant des arbres qui allaient pousser pendant des générations.

Mêmes échos au Assiniboine Park Zoo Camp, un camp pour jeunes de milieux défavorisés à Winnipeg. Ces jeunes ayant rarement l’occasion d’être en contact avec la nature, le parc fait de grands efforts pour leur permettre de jouer dans les arbres : il les fait monter en grue pour observer les plants dans le couvert forestier et a même aménagé des tyroliennes dans les arbres. Les arbres de ChariTree occupent une place importante dans leur programme. Un groupe d’arbres plantés par des jeunes en bordure d’une route en périmètre du zoo a été laissé à l’état naturel pendant cinq ans; entre les pins gris matures poussent aujourd’hui de jeunes semis. Karen Pearce, directrice de la gestion du terrain, dit que les jeunes qui ont planté ces arbres reviennent année après année pour observer la croissance de leurs arbres. C’est beau de voir ces jeunes développer ainsi un sens des responsabilités et un souci de l’environnement.

J’ai toujours cru que les jeunes apprenaient beaucoup en visitant les arbres qu’ils avaient plantés les années précédentes. Que de grandes choses commencent toutes petites. C’est ce que nous a rappelé notre visite du Camp Kasota West sur le lac Sylvan en Alberta en compagnie de Kathy et Gary Koehler. Responsable des commandes d’arbres pour l’Alberta, Kathy joue un rôle important dans le programme des camps d’été de ChariTree.

Gary nous fait visiter les endroits où les campeurs ont planté leurs arbres au fil des ans. Nous découvrons de jeunes semis plantés plus tôt dans l’été et des épinettes de huit pieds poussant en bordure du lac qui devaient avoir quatre ou cinq ans. C’est inspirant de savoir que ces arbres étaient autrefois de tout petits plants.

Notre voyage de 8000 km nous rappelle que Mère Nature peut aussi être dure. On a tout vu : avertissements de tornade, violents orages, inondations, feux de forêt. Au Caddy Lake Girl Guide Camp, dans le superbe parc provincial Whiteshell au Manitoba, nous apprenons que les arbres de ChariTree répondent aussi à des besoins particuliers. La directrice Lindsay Lodge nous montre un terrain derrière la cuisine du camp où, quelques années plus tôt, des vents violents ont abattu des épinettes et pins matures. Le camp reboise avec des arbres de ChariTree, donnant aux campeurs la chance de voir les arbres guérir un paysage cicatrisé.

Parfois Mère Nature n’est pas bienveillante envers les arbres. De graves inondations cet été ont forcé le gouvernement du Manitoba à déclarer l’état d’urgence et faire appel à l’armée pour ériger des murs de sacs de sable. À Assiniboine Park, Karen nous montre un terrain inondé par la rivière Assiniboine où des jeunes avaient planté des arbres de ChariTree.

Je parlais plus tôt de la contribution des responsables provinciaux du programme. Ce fut enrichissant de discuter avec Kathy et de prendre connaissance de son expérience et des défis que posent la commande et la cueillette des arbres. Je comprends maintenant mieux la logistique entourant la distribution des arbres à de nombreux camps. Un gros merci à Kathy et à tous les responsables provinciaux et bien sûr à Catherine Ross de l’ACC pour tout leur travail.
Au fil des ans, j’ai fait des démarches pour simplifier le processus, par exemple en mettant en place un formulaire de commande en ligne. Malgré tout, il arrive que tout ne se déroule pas rondement. J’ai été déçue d’apprendre que certains camps n’avaient pas reçu les arbres qu’ils avaient commandés ou, qu’incapables de se présenter à la date de cueillette, leurs arbres avaient été donnés à un autre camp. Je vais prendre du temps pour réfléchir à des façons d’améliorer le processus de commande et de cueillette afin que ces omissions ne se reproduisent plus. J’apprécie toutes vos suggestions pour améliorer le programme.

En repensant à notre voyage et à notre visite des camps, je réalise que le partenariat entre la Fondation ChariTree et l’Association canadienne des camps a de racines profondes. Des arbres poussent à travers le pays et des campeurs contribuent à rendre le monde meilleur. Lorsque les campeurs plantent leurs arbres, ils ont droit à un vœu pour la planète – mon vœu est que ce programme continue de grandir et que les jeunes seront encore plus nombreux à avoir l’occasion de se rapprocher de la nature et de planter des arbres.

– Andrea Koehle Jones, directrice générale, Fondation ChariTree

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Executive Director at The Charitree Foundation
Andrea has a masters degree in journalism and has worked for various news organizations including CBC Newsworld, BCTV and cbc4kids. On Earth Day 2006, she founded Love Trees and The ChariTREE Foundation. She lives near Vancouver, Canada surrounded by trees with her husband and two young children.

Article

ChariTree Is Taking Root!

Posted on October 13, 2014 by Andrea Koehle Jones

This past summer on a family, cross country, camping trip, Andrea Koehle Jones, Executive Director of the ChariTree Foundation, visited several camps to witness the progress of some of the 100,000 trees that Canadian campers have planted since the inception of the CCA Tree Planting Program in 2009.

Andrea’s report describes the program’s successes and challenges, and Andrea’s appreciation of the provincial representatives who manage the program and the campers who do the work:

Canadian Family Completes Tree Planting Trip

charitree foundationIf a seedling is growing in the forest does anybody notice? This summer on a drive back to British Columbia from Ontario with my family, I learned the answer is a definite yes. For the last five years, the ChariTree Foundation – a children’s environmental tree planting charity I founded in 2006 – has been giving trees to campers at Canadian Camping Association camps across Canada. In that time, children at CCA camps across Canada have planted nearly 100,000 trees.

Every year I receive encouraging photos and reports from camps about the program. Comments like these make me feel like I am doing something important and ChariTree is on the right track:

“We successfully planted 300 saplings at Camp Wenonah in July this year! It was a unique experience for campers and staff alike, providing them with the opportunity to bond with nature and to contribute to the land of the Camp they all hold so dear. Every camper, ages 8-18, had the chance to plant a tree in the location of their choice- some groups even planted tree gardens near their cabins which they could revisit and watch with care. Thank you ChariTree Foundation for providing us with this wonderful opportunity.” – Janette, Assistant Director – Camp Wenonah

 “We had lots of fun with this tree planting project. With a certified arborist on our team we made good use of the trees with strategic placement while making it a fun time for our campers.” – Derrik, Tripper – Lake Scugog Camp

I’ve always dreamed of seeing these trees myself but living on a tiny island off the coast of Vancouver made such a dream unrealistic until this summer. In June I decided to purchase a used pop-up trailer and drive with my husband and two children to Ontario to visit my parents. I instantly thought it would be the ideal opportunity to drop in on some camps, see the trees and hear about the program from camp staff. I also think it’s important to report back to all of ChariTree’s generous donors that their donations are making a real difference and continue to grow in so many wonderful ways.

School ended early due to the British Columbia teachers’ strike so we packed up and hit the road with our nine-year-old and eleven-year-old for a once-in-a-lifetime geography lesson. After eight days driving and camping across the northern US and a memorable visit with the grandparents on Lake Simcoe, we geared-up to head back across Canada.

The kids were excited for the next phase of the journey — to see the trees their mom had donated to summer camps. But which camps do we visit? The question was not as simple as I first imagined; there were at least three camps within two hours from our departure point in Orillia, Ontario that had received trees. It was satisfying to realize that the ChariTree Foundation was on the ground growing in so many places. It’s something I was reminded of again and again as we continued to drive west.

Canadian Camping Association CharitreeThe first camp we visited was the YMCA Geneva Park on Lake Couchiching just outside Orillia. Camp youth leader, Tim Clement, welcomed us and took us around a grass field where a few weeks earlier campers had planted along the outside edge some beautiful little jack pines that will become a windbreak and an ideal sun shade.

Tim told us he was pleasantly surprised that many of the campers chose tree planting over more traditional camp activities. He said planting seedlings is something many campers have never experienced. Tim said they found it appealing that they could be part of planting trees that will grow for generations, beautify the camp and help the environment.

This story was reinforced to us when we visited Assiniboine Park zoo camp in Winnipeg. The camp takes in a large group of inner city kids. These kids don’t have many chances to experience nature so the park makes a big effort to allow kids to play in the trees by holding a week-long camp taking kids up in bucket cranes to see seeds in the tree canopy. They even set-up zip lines in the trees for the kids. Trees from ChariTree also play a big role in this program showing these kids the wonders of nature. A group of trees the youth planted on a section of perimeter road around the zoo has been left in a natural state for five years. In amongst the grass and mature jack pines are small pine seedlings sprouting up. Karen Pearce, Director of Grounds, Assiniboine Park Conservancy, says the kids that planted these trees ask to come back year after year to see how the trees are growing. It’s great to see these youth develop a sense of responsibility and pride for the environment in this way.

ChariTree has always believed there are some powerful lessons to be gained when campers are able to visit the trees they planted from previous summers. One of those lessons is that from a small idea a big thing grows. We experienced that ‘aha moment’ ourselves when we visited Kathy and Gary Koehler at Camp Kasota West on Sylvan Lake in Alberta. As the Alberta CCA rep responsible for taking tree orders and making sure camps in her province receive their ChariTrees, Kathy has played a vital role in ChariTree’s summer camp program.

Gary showed us where campers have been planting ChariTrees over the years. On our exploration we found some young seedlings planted earlier this summer as well as some strong and 8 ‘ tall blue spruce growing near the lakeshore that must have been four to five years old. To think they started out as tiny seedlings was inspiring.

Our 8,000 km road trip taught us that Mother Nature can also be harsh and cold. We experienced just about everything she could throw at us — tornado warnings, severe thunderstorms, flash floods and forest fires. At Caddy Lake Girl Guide Camp in Manitoba’s beautiful Whiteshell Provincial Park, we found ChariTrees meeting another need. Camp director Lindsay Lodge led us up to the tent platforms on a small ridge behind the camp kitchen. A couple of years ago a severe windstorm had knocked down many of the mature spruce and pine trees. The camp was helping replant the area with trees from ChariTree and campers were getting the opportunity to see how trees can help heal a scarred landscape.

Sometimes Mother Nature is not so kind to trees. Massive flooding this summer prompted Manitoba to declare a state of emergency and call on the military to help with sandbagging efforts. At Assiniboine Park, Karen showed us where the Assiniboine River had spilled over and flooded an area where campers had planted ChariTrees in previous years.

Earlier I mentioned the role provincial reps have in helping the tree program succeed. It was great to talk to Kathy about her experience and hear about some of the challenges of coordinating the orders and pick-up of the trees. I gained a better appreciation of the logistics required to arrange dates and times for multiple camps to pick up their trees. So thank you so much Kathy and all provincial reps and of course the CCA’s Catherine Ross for all the important work you do.

Some of the processes I have implemented, like the online order form are designed to simplify the process. Still, sometimes things fall through the cracks. I was disappointed to learn of instances where camps never received the trees they ordered, or were unable to make the pickup dates and so their trees were given to other camps. I will be taking some time to think of ways to improve the ordering and delivery process so these kinds of omissions don’t happen. I would appreciate any suggestions to make the program better.

Looking back on our trip and camp check-in, I realize the partnership between the ChariTree Foundation and the Canadian Camping Association has established some deep roots. Trees are springing up across the country and campers are truly making their world a better place. When campers plant their Wish Trees they get to make a wish for the world – my wish is that the programs continues to grow and even more children will have the opportunity to get out in nature and plant a Wish Tree.

Written by Andrea Koehle Jones, Executive Director ChariTree Foundation

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Executive Director at The Charitree Foundation
Andrea has a masters degree in journalism and has worked for various news organizations including CBC Newsworld, BCTV and cbc4kids. On Earth Day 2006, she founded Love Trees and The ChariTREE Foundation. She lives near Vancouver, Canada surrounded by trees with her husband and two young children.