Article

Aux camps de l’ACC

Posté le 24 avril 2015 par Government Relations Committee

Aux camps de l’ACC,

Je communique avec vous au nom de l’Association des camps du Canada (ACC).

Nous avons besoin de votre aide. En raison de changements apportés dernièrement au Programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires, il est devenu très difficile pour les camps d’embaucher du personnel des États-Unis et d’ailleurs dans le monde. Les camps canadiens se sont toujours targués d’employer des personnes matures, compétentes, venant de différents milieux et possédant toutes sortes d’expériences. Ces gens aident à créer une culture de diversité, de sécurité et d’entraide dans nos camps et à faire en sorte que nos établissements répondent aux normes les plus élevées. ll s’agit d’ailleurs souvent d’anciens campeurs. Les camps donnent la priorité aux employés canadiens, mais dépendent de travailleurs internationaux pour compléter leurs effectifs lorsqu’ils sont incapables de trouver des candidats canadiens qualifiés.

Avec l’augmentation coûts et des exigences logistiques, pour certains camps il sera à toutes fins pratiques impossible d’embaucher des travailleurs étrangers cet été et ultérieurement. Le gouvernement s’est initialement rallié à notre cause, mais a maintenant reporté des réunions prévues, est très lent dans ses communications avec nous et ne répond littéralement pas.

Nous demandons à tous les camps accrédités (que vous embauchiez ou non des travailleurs internationaux) de nous aider en contactant tout député conservateur que vous pourriez connaître, soit en envoyant une lettre exprimant vos préoccupations ou en téléphonant. Si vous avez des contacts proches ou une relation personnelle avec le ministre Alexander ou de n’importe quel autre député conservateur, veuillez contacter Mark Diamond (mark@manitoucamp.com) afin qu’il puisse déterminer la meilleure façon de communiquer avec cette personne pour qu’elle nous aide à faire valoir notre position.

Mark Diamond, propriétaire/directeur| Camp Manitou

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
at
The CCA Government Relations Committee works to develop relationships with the federal government on behalf of Canadian camps. The Committee also seeks to inform camps of legislation that may affect them. Mark Diamon (Camp Manitou, Ontario) and Jonathan Nyquist (NyQuest Training & Placement) serve as volunteers on this Committee.

Call for Assistance – Temporary Foreign Workers

Posted on April 24, 2015 by Government Relations Committee

Dear CCA Camps,

I am contacting you on behalf of the Canadian Camping Association (CCA) Lobbying Committee.

We need your help. Recent changes to the federal Temporary Foreign Workers Program are making it extremely challenging for camps to hire American and International staff. Canadian camps have always taken pride in hiring mature, skilled individuals with a wide range of backgrounds and experiences. These staff help create a diverse, safe and caring culture within our camps ensuring that the highest of standards can be met. They often are campers who grew up in our camps as well. While camps prioritize hiring Canadians, our international staff fill gaps in our staffing that we are unable to fill with qualified Canadian applicants.

The recent elevated changes to the costs and logistics associated with bringing foreign workers into Canada will make it virtually impossible for some camps to hire them for this coming summer and in the future. The government originally was very supportive of our cause, but now has postponed scheduled meetings and is very slow to communicate with us and literally is not responding.

We are asking all CCA camps (regardless of whether or not your hire international staff) to help us by contacting any Conservative MP that you may know- either by sending a letter indicating your concern or by a phone call. If you do have any very close contacts or a personal relationship with Minister Alexander or any Conservative MP please contact Mark Diamond ( so that he can determine the best way to communicate with such a person to help present our position.

Mark Diamond, Owner/Director | Camp Manitou

The CCA Government Relations Committee works to develop relationships with the federal government on behalf of Canadian camps. The Committee also seeks to inform camps of legislation that may affect them. Mark Diamon (Camp Manitou, Ontario) and Jonathan Nyquist (NyQuest Training & Placement) serve as volunteers on this Committee.