Prix Ron Johnstone

Ron Johnstone

Ron Johnstone

La contribution de Ron Johnstone à l’Association des camps du Canada et au milieu du camping au Canada fut exceptionnelle.

Ron fut tour à tour président et trésorier de l’ACC. Il fut également président de l’Association des camps de l’Ontario (ACO) qui a décerné à Ron et à son épouse Mickey le titre de membre honoraire à vie. En leur honneur, l’ACO décerne chaque année le prix Ron & Mickey Johnstone du jeune leader.

Durant sa carrière, Ron fut gestionnaire et directeur de Camp White Bear à Temagami, administrateur de haute direction de Camp Tawingo, directeur chez Micron Consulting,  administrateur délégué de Campground Consultants of Canada et il a travaillé dans divers YMCA au Canada dans les années 1950 et au début des années 1960.

La passion de Ron pour le camping et le loisir l’a amené à diriger le Centre national du sport et de la récréation, à oeuvrer aux XVes Jeux olympiques d’hiver ainsi qu’au sein de la Canadian Recreational Canoeing Association et de Canoe Canada.

Si on se rappellera ses nombreuses réalisations, on retiendra également sa nature conciliante et son sourire unique, de même que la générosité avec laquelle il mettait tout son temps et son talent au service des autres. L’ACC souligne l’extraordinaire héritage de Ron en décernant le prix Ron Johnstone pour l’ensemble des réalisations.

Par le PRIX RON JOHNSTONE POUR L’ENSEMBLE DES RÉALISATIONS, l’Association des camps du Canada reconnaît la contribution exceptionnelle d’une personne à l’avancement de l’Association des camps du Canada pendant une longue période de temps.

Lauréats

1995     Jane McCutcheon, OCA

2000     Kim Strachan, MCA

2002     John Jorgenson, OCA

2007     Jocelyn Palm, OCA

2008     Dave Stevens, BCCA

2009     Kirk Wipper, OCA

2010     Larry & Pearl Bell, OCA

2011     Jeff Bradshaw, OCA

2013     Donna Wilkinson, SCA

Ron Johnstone Lifetime Achievement Award

Ron Johnstone

Ron Johnstone

Ron Johnstone’s contributions to the Canadian Camping Association and the camping movement in Canada throughout his lifetime were immeasurable.

A Past President of the CCA, Ron also served as CCA Treasurer.  He was a Past President of the Ontario Camping Association and along with his wife Mickey, an Honorary Life Member of the OCA.  The OCA honours Ron, along with Mickey, with the annual presentation of the Ron & Mickey Johnstone Youth Leadership Award.

Ron’s professional career highlights included the management and direction of Camp White Bear in Temagami; Executive Administrator at Camp Tawingo; Principal of Micron Consulting; Managing Director of Campground Consultants of Canada and work with various YMCAs in Canada in the 1950s and early 1960s.

Ron’s passionate work on behalf of camping and recreation in Canada included leadership with the National Sport and Recreation Centre; XV Winter Olympics; Canadian Recreational Canoeing Association and Canoe Canada.

Beyond all of his many accomplishments, perhaps what people remember most about Ron was his easygoing manner and incomparable smile as he gave so willingly of his time and talent. The CCA celebrates Ron’s extraordinary legacy with the Ron Johnstone Lifetime Achievement Award.

The RON JOHNSTONE LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD is the Canadian Camping Association’s way of recognizing outstanding commitment over a prolonged period of time to the CCA.

Past recipients:

1995     Jane McCutcheon, OCA

2000     Kim Strachan, MCA

2002     John Jorgenson, OCA

2007     Jocelyn Palm, OCA

2008     Dave Stevens, BCCA

2009     Kirk Wipper, OCA

2010     Larry & Pearl Bell, OCA

2011     Jeff Bradshaw, OCA

2013     Donna Wilkinson, SCA